Ornaments for Festival of Trees: Installment 2

The other day I made cookies for a party: chocolate cake mix with rainbow sprinkles mixed in. Echo helped. She asked me to show them off to Tom when he got home from work.

ME: “For the party. Echo helped.”

TOM: “Oh, those look really yummy! Great job!”

(Pauses. Looks at cookies. Looks at me.)

TOM: “Are they real?”

This is the way things are at my house right now. If you find it lying around in the kitchen, it’s a smart idea to ask me if it’s actually edible before biting into it. Otherwise you might end up with a mouthful of papier mache or salt dough coated in paint. Mmm…crunchy. Yesterday Echo and I finished Round Two of ornaments for this year’s Festival of Trees: thumbprint cookies.

I think I’ll redo the ribbon hangers to cover the wire with the bow. They’re made out of salt dough with a glass gem baked in. Then I covered them in a light wash of yellow ochre paint, brushed on a wash of glue, sprinkled with a combination of crystal glitter and salt, and finished with a few coats of spray lacquer. I inserted bent wire before baking.

Yum. Makes me want shortbread. I only made a few for now, because I’m pretty sure I’m only going to manage a small tree for the Festival. Ornaments aren’t a problem. Finding a pre-lit artificial tree that doesn’t cost hundreds of dollars is. I could put lights on myself, but Festival rules require them to be wired to the tree. Hmmm…wiring hundreds of tiny lights to prickly branches by hand. On site. No, thank you, I think I’ll buy them already stuck on there.

For more information on the Salt Lake Primary Children’s Medical Center (which receives the money from the Festival of Trees fundraiser), check here:

http://intermountainhealthcare.org/hospitals/primarychildrens/Pages/home.aspx

Interested in making something similar to today’s post? Here’s a recipe for salt dough:

2 cups flour

1 cup salt

1/2-1 cup warm water

Stir together salt and flour, then add water a few tablespoons at a time, kneading to make a smooth, non-sticky dough. Can be rolled out and cut with cookie cutters (which I will be doing later), or shaped. Don’t roll it less than 1/8 inch thick, or it will be more likely to warp and bubble as it bakes. Also, bake it at a low temperature; 250 or under, turning several times. That makes cracking, warping, etc, less likely. Can also be air dried, though some warping is likely. Will take at least a few hours to bake and a few days to air dry, more depending on size. This is great for adult or kids’ projects, and can be painted when dried. Seal with clear glaze for a lasting project. Have fun!

~ by scorchd on September 10, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
